Specialist and Line Units



An abortive assassination on Sir Franklin Gimson, then Governor of the Straits Settlement of Singapore, marked the birth of the VIP squad. The squad was subsequently renamed as Security Branch, with about 30 detective sergeants dedicated to protect the Chief Minister and the Legislative Assemblymen.

Following Singapore’s declaration of independence in 1965, the size of Security Branch was doubled to ensure the personal security of the President, Prime Minister and Cabinet Ministers. Eventually, Security Branch was renamed as Police Security Command (SecCom) and it is now situated at Lorong 4 Toa Payoh.


To ensure the safety and security of its protectees.


Police Security Command is responsible for the personal safety and security of all Cabinet Ministers and visiting foreign dignitaries.

Last Updated on 08 August 2019